College Football

NCAA Playoff Trophy Unveiled

The 2014-15 season will be the first time the FBS championship will be decided using a playoff bracket system.  The bracket will look like the one below.  Unlike the BCS system previously used that features an ungodly amount of various matrices and computer rankings, the playoff teams will be selected by a committee of 13 experts starring people like Tom Osborne, Barry Alvarez, Archie Manning, and Condoleezza Rice.  This committee will rank a top 25 each week after week 9 and will release their final rankings on December 7th.


The NCAA wanted to give the new championship a fresh start – and with that fresh start – a fresh trophy.  Unlike the crystal football trophy given out since 1986, the new one features 24k gold, bronze & stainless steel and stands 3 feet tall.


h/t: campusinsiders

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top